Craft Corner 7/28/14

Craft Corner

Traci Kenworth writing as Traci Krites

 

Writer’s Digest Classics

Jane Eyre

Charlotte Bronte

Annotations by K.M. Weiland

Foreward by Diana Gabaldon

 

I didn’t consider myself one for the classics. Pages and pages of boring, stuffy reading was what came to mind when I considered them, but a chance invitation to review a book by Charlotte Bronte had me foregoing the usual yawn. I figured I’d give the book a try and see whether it could hold my interest. I’m pleased to say my whole opinion of the classic has undergone a revolution.

Jane Eyre is the story of a poor orphan girl who learns to live and love in spite of her wealth, position, and circumstances. And yet, I hate to condense it to just that, because the story is really so much more. It’s about life, death, and rebirth. It’s about knowing who you are despite who others think you are and in the end, accepting yourself.

While I did have a bit of annoyance at the notes K.M. Weiland wrote throughout the book, it wasn’t because of what she said or what she would go on to teach me about the story and writing itself, but only that it sometimes revealed key information in the storyline so that I would know something was going to happen before it did. As I went along, I came to look forward to her notes and learn new techniques to help me with my own writing. So many things she’d taught on her valuable blog, I now could see as examples and I came to understand what she was saying more fully.

I encourage all of you to try the book, it comes out August 1, 2014. As for myself, thanks to K.M. Weiland, I will be picking up more of those once dreaded classics, with the hope that I’ll find a fascinating story and not the dreaded headaches from long ago English classes.  Blank white book w/path

Leave a Reply

